Samantha Wallace
David Webster

Instrumental Teachers
Ms Hazel Morrison – Percussion (Maternity Leave)
Mr Vini Bonnar – Percussion
Mr Gordon Ferries – Guitar & Bass Guitar
Ms May Halyburton – Double Bass & Bass Guitar
Ms Clare Miller – Bagpipes, Chanter and Pipe Band Drumming

Mrs Jenny McQue – Woodwind
Mr Gergely Horvath – Violin & Cello
Ms Stacey Sievwright – Cello (Maternity Leave)

Mr Raymond Rowe – Piano & Keyboard

Ms Katy Barry – Voice
Mrs Donna Arthur – Brass

Click here to view S1-S6 Music Course Information 2018

The department is equipped with Yamaha Keyboards, Acoustic Guitars, Electric & Bass Guitars, Ukuleles,  Acoustic & Electric Drum Kits, Timpani and Tuned Percussion. In addition to our recording studio, 24 individual Apple Workstations running GarageBand 6.0.5, GarageBand X and Logic Pro X provide learning experiences for all students in S1-S6. The workstations are complemented with a variety of Condenser & Dynamic microphones and USB audio interfaces, which can also be used with students iPad’s to create a mobile recording studio and encourage ‘On Location’ recordings.

Extra curricular activities:
Samba Band Monday Ms Morrison
Guitar Group Monday Mr Ferris
String Group Tuesday Mr Horvath & Ms Halyburton
Woodwind Group Tuesday Ms McQue
Vocal Group Thursday Ms Barry
Singing Club with Miss Wallace Tuesday 1pm
Tynecastle Youth Community Pipe Band with Ms Miller Tuesday 4pm-5:30pm

Practice Room Bookings:
Students can book practice rooms to practice their instruments and perform individually or in groups of no more than 4.  Practice rooms may be booked at the following times: Monday-Thursday 10:30am-10:45am and Monday & Wednesday 1pm-1:25pm.

Music Technology Homework Sessions:
As part of their course, all S4-S6 Music Technology Students must book a 30 minute weekly session in the music department to work on their chosen projects. This is in place of completing homework at home. Sessions may be booked during the following times: Monday-Wednesday Lunch times, Monday-Thursday 3:35pm-4:05pm, Friday 12:20pm-12:50pm. Students are able to extend their session time after school if they wish.